Drop it like its... too many resources...

inoino REGISTERED Posts: 131
One of the biggest bummers for me in most sandbox games, is eventually hitting that point where, even manual, production leads to way more resources than I could ever use. This is something we are thinking about in design to keep things "interesting"... some of the most obvious aspects of this are in conflict... utilizing of resources to make a variety of "things" that allow players to engage with one another. Others, may revolve around exploration, or some costs associated with the amount of time or resources required to accomplish goals...

What happens when you just have too many chickens? What to do with them? Trade with other players? Feed them to cute pets in an endless cycle of vomitous cute burps and smiles?

What are some things you guys think would be an interesting way to utilize finite resources, that seem to be in an abundance?
I am a Dev on TUG, and I does teh science

Follow me on the twitters, why not? @inoritewtf

Comments

• Hoppa_JoelHoppa_Joel REGISTERED Posts: 191 Seed
    this last month Stardew Valley came out, a nice little game with a lot of mini-game tasks inside.
    I've been playing a bit lately of it, and find it addictively refreshing form my normal MMO or regular sandboxy games. Although at times it feels a bit of a grind. Grinds should be avoided.
    There is a lot of cooking, and a lot of crafting.
    It doesn't stop with, roast this or fry that, but there is brewing and rare seeds and plants that make this or that. The concept isn't new, Ultima Online did it with a lot of recipes, magicks, and crafts, but I always imagined TUG going in that direction.
    Games within games, extend the life expectancy.