Research Team Introductions - Nikki "Gazelle" Crenshaw

GazelleGazelle REGISTERED, Vakaethei Posts: 35 Golem
edited March 2014 in Science!
Yay research team introductions!

My name is Nikki Crenshaw, and I’ve been hired as a behavioral science researcher for Nerd Kingdom. My background is in Psychology [B.A. from the University of California, Santa Cruz], my current advisor is an Anthropologist. So I have sort of a combination of statistical and ethnographic [for those of you who don’t know, an “ethnography” generally entails long-term, in-depth research ranging from interviews to doing activities with a specific cultural community…in this case, you guys!] research skills. I’m currently affiliated with the Informatics department at the University of California, Irvine, and my research focuses on how players develop their identity in and across online games.

Unfortunately, NO ONE KNOW WHAT INFORMATICS IS, but it’s a pretty cool field of study. Our current department description says we study how people “live, work, build (and play, in my opinion) through the help of technology.” We have people with background from social sciences, computer sciences, library sciences, art, design…It’s pretty eclectic. I’m a 2nd year PhD student currently slowly dying while I finish my Master’s courses, TA classes, and somehow try to pump out my own research. I should be doing my equivalent of a Master’s defense this upcoming Fall on my current research project: examining how players use handles to keep a consistent identity in online gaming.